Template Shadow

Frank Black Middle School

A Vanguard Magnet Campus

Frank Black Middle School has the most comprehensive athletics program of any middle school in HISD.  
 
FBMS offers a twelve sports, multiple iClubs focused on athletics and has additional sports options under development.  With excellent coaching and a rich tradition of fielding competitive teams, FBMS students have a wide range of sports options that help develop teamwork, discipline, focus, athleticism and good health habits, while experiencing the fun and reward of competition.
 
The University Scholastic League (UIL) governs public school athletics in Texas and restricts participation to 7th and 8th graders for UIL sports.  At FBMS 6th graders are eligible to participate in lacrosse, softball or baseball.  
 
All participants are required to complete an Athletics Packet.  Athletics Packet which is good for all sports for the entire school year.   
 
 
COACHES
 
Football 
8th Grade:  Coach Obeng
austin.obeng@houstonisd.org 
 
Coach Mehta
 cmehta@houstonisd.org
 
7th Grade:  Coach Akins
allen.akins@houstonisd.org

Volleyball
8th Grade: Coach Menchaca 
smorri14@houstonisd.org
 
7th Grade: Coach Kramer 
pkramer@houstonisd.org 

  Basketball
8th Grade Boys: Coach Obeng
 austin.obeng@houstonisd.org 
 
7th Grade Boys:  Coach Akins
 allen.akins@houstonisd.org
 
8th Grade Girls:  Coach Myles
lobryan@houstonisd.org
 
7th Grade Girls: Coach Nnamani 
 cnnamani@houstonisd.org

Soccer 
Boys:  Coach Castelline
 acastel2@houstonisd.org
 
Girls:  Coach Menchaca
 smorri14@houstonisd.org

Cheerleading  
Coach Cornish
icornish@houstonisd.org

Baseball  
Coach Brown
  brandon.brown2@houstonisd.org
 
Coach Gillson
 richard.gillson@houstonisd.org

Softball  
Coach Buren
 jburen1@houstonisd.org
 
Coach Mehta
cmehta@houstonisd.org 

Swimming  
Girls: Coach Mehta
 cmehta@houstonisd.org
 
Boys: Coach Obeng 
austin.obeng@houstonisd.org 

Lacrosse
Coach Weltin
tweltin@houstonisd.org 

Cross Country  
Girls: Coach Menchaca
smorri14@houstonisd.org
 
Boys: Coach Castelline
 acastel2@houstonisd.org

Track 
Boys:  Coach Obeng
austin.obeng@houstonisd.org
 
Girls: Coach Nnamani 

Template Shadow
CLOSE