Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics (STEM)


  • Students work with process technology equipment at Kashmere High School.

    Through a variety of STEM programs, HISD is preparing students for the most in-demand 21st century jobs that help fuel our local economy and our nation’s growth. In addition to broad exposure to science, technology, engineering, and math at all school levels, HISD offers focused programs in health sciences, environmental science, and computer and communications technologies.

Elementary School STEM programs

logo

Berry Elementary
Magnet Program: Environmental Science
Magnet Coordinator: Milagro Sasmita | Email: MSASMITA@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/696-2700 713/696-2701(fax)

logo

Cornelius Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Natasha Putman | Email: nputman@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/845-7405 713/845-7448(fax)

logo

Davila Elementary
Magnet Program: STEM
Magnet Coordinator: Daniel Garza | Email: Daniel.Garza@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-924-1851 | 713-924-1853

logo

Elrod Elementary
Magnet Program: Emerging Medical Scholars Magnet
Magnet Coordinator: Laura Henry | Email: lhenry5@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/778-3330 713/778-3333(fax)

logo

Hartsfield Elementary
Magnet Program: Animal and Environmental Sciences (SWP)
Magnet Coordinator: Crystal Williams | Email: CWILLI79@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/746-8280 713/746-8283(fax)

logo

Harvard Elementary
Magnet Program: International Baccalaureate World School
Magnet Coordinator: Jessica Berry | Email: Jessica.Berry@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/867-5210 713/867-5215(fax)

logo

Lantrip Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Lisa Green | Email: lgreen13@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-924-1670 | 713-924-1672 (fax)

logo

Lockhart Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Dennis Jackson | Email: djacks14@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/942-1950 713/942-1953(fax)

logo

Pugh Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math & Dual Language
Magnet Coordinator: Elizabeth Hurwick | Email: ehurwick@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/671-3820 713/671-3825(fax)

logo

Red Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: LMAXIE@houstonisd.org | Email: LaFoscia Maxie
Phone: 713/726-3638 713/726-3698(fax)

logo

Rice School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Vickie Matson | Email: VMATSON@houstonisd.org;
Phone: 713/349-1800 713/349-1828(fax)

logo

Ross Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Emily Medrano | Email: emedrano@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/226-4550 713/226-4554(fax)

logo

Shadowbriar Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math (STEAM)
Magnet Coordinator: Brad Zimmerman | Email: bzimmerm@houstonisd.org
Phone: 281/368-2160 281/368-2170(fax)

logo

Sinclair Elementary
Magnet Program: STEM, Communications and Technology Magnet Program
Magnet Coordinator: Rebekah Nielsen | Email: rebecca.nielsen@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/867-5161 713/867-5162(fax)

logo

Valley West Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Erica Rudolph | Email: erudolph@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/773-6151 713-773-6156(fax)

logo

Wainwright Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Nina Roman | Email: NLROMA19@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/613-2550 713/613-2549(fax)

logo

Wesley Elementary School
Magnet Program: STEM
Magnet Coordinator: Sarah Henry | Email: Sarah.Henry@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-696-2860 | 713-696-2866

logo

Whidby Elementary
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math & Health Science
Magnet Coordinator: Robyn McAdams-Ford | Email: rmcadam1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713/746-8170 713/746-8173(fax)

Middle School STEM programs

logo

Baylor College Of Medicine Acd
Magnet Program: STEM/Medical Health Professions
Magnet Coordinator: Joanna Garcia | Email: jgarcia7@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-942-1932 | 713-942-1943 (fax)

logo

Baylor College of Medicine Biotech Academy at Rusk
Magnet Program: Health Science Academy
Magnet Coordinator: Senta Butler | Email: sbutler5@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-226-4543 | 713-226-4546 (fax)

logo

Clifton Middle School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Anita Samuy | Email: ASAMUY@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-613-2516 | 713-613-2523 (fax)

logo

Deady Middle School
Magnet Program: STEM
Magnet Coordinator: Donica Arnold Brown | Email: Donica.ArnoldBrown@houstonisd.org
Phone: (713) 845-7411 | (713) 845-5645

logo

Hartman Middle School
Magnet Program: STEM – Medical and Health Science
Magnet Coordinator: Jeshawn Robinson | Email: JROBIN12@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-845-7435 | 713-847-4706 (fax)

logo

Hogg Middle School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Daniella Andrade | Email: dandrad1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-802-4700 | 713-802-4708 (fax)

logo

Long Academy
Magnet Program: Allied Health Professions
Magnet Coordinator: Will Rice | Email: wrice@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-778-3380 | 713-778-3387 (fax)

logo

Revere Middle School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Philip Porter | Email: pporter1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-917-3500 | 713-917-3505 (fax)

logo

Rice School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Vickie Matson | Email: vmatson@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-349-1800 | 713-349-1828 (fax)

logo

Stevenson Middle School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Huy Bui | Email: HBUI@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-943-5700 | 713-943-5711 (fax)

logo

Williams Middle School
Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
Magnet Coordinator: Ursula Douglas | Email: UDOUGLAS@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-696-2600 | 713/696-2604 (fax)

High School STEM programs

logo

Chavez High School
Magnet Program: Applied Science and Engineering 
Additional Programs: Linked Learning, ROTC, International Baccalaureate, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Juan Gallardo | Email: jgallar1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-495-6950 | 713-495-6988 (fax)

logo

DeBakey High School
Magnet Program: Health Professions 
Additional Programs: EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Jarrod Thornhill | Email: jthornhi@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-741-2410 | 713-746-5211 (fax)

logo

Energy Institute High School
Magnet Program: STEM/Energy Professions 
Additional Programs: EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Jenna Moon | Email: jmoon2@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-802-4620 | 713-556-9840 (fax)

logo

Furr Institute for Innovative Thinking
Magnet Program: STEAM (Media & Technology, Global Medicine, and Environmental Justice & Agriculture) 
Additional Programs: Linked Learning, ROTC, Futures Academy, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: David De Hoyos Salazar | Email: Ddehoyos@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-675-1118 | 713-671-3612 (fax)

logo

Heights High School
Magnet Program: Computer Technology 
Additional Programs: Dual Languages, Linked Learning, ROTC, International Baccalaureate, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Byronica Pickney | Email: BPICKNEY@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-865-4400 | 713-802-4749 (fax)

logo

Kashmere High School
Magnet Program: STEM/The Chemical and Process Technology Institute (SWP), Computer Engineering Technology (SWAS), & Performing and Visual Arts (SWAS) 
Additional Programs: ROTC, Futures Academy, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Sharon Harris-Sims | Email: sharriss@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-636-6400 | 713-636-6433 (fax)

logo

Milby High School
Magnet Program: STEM 
Additional Programs: Linked Learning, ROTCE, MERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Claudia Cardenas | Email: ccarden2@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-928-7401 | 713-928-7474 (fax)

logo

South Early College High School
Magnet Program: STEM/Advanced Technology Institute 
Additional Programs: EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Jeffrey Stear | Email: jstear@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-732-3623 | 713-732-3425 (fax)

logo

Sterling High School
Magnet Program: Aviation Sciences & Business Logistics & Global Supply 
Additional Programs: Linked Learning, ROTC, Futures Academy, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Muriel Jones | Email: mjones15@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-991-0510 | 713-991-8111 (fax)

logo

Waltrip High School
Magnet Program: Research and Technology 
Additional Programs: ROTC 
Magnet Coordinator: Jeff Turner | Email: jturner2@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-688-1361 | 713-957-7743 (fax)

logo

Washington High School
Magnet Program: Engineering Professions & Engineering Sciences 
Additional Programs: ROTC, Futures Academy, EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Sonya White | Email: swhite@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-696-6600 | 713-696-6657 (fax)

logo

Westside High School
Magnet Program: Integrated Technology & Health Sciences 
Additional Programs: Linked Learning, ROTC, Futures Academy 
Magnet Coordinator: Elizabeth Miller | Email: emiller4@houstonisd.org
Phone: 281-920-8000 | 281-920-8059 (fax)

logo

Young Women's College Prep Academy 6-12
Magnet Program: College Preparatory 
Additional Programs: STEM 
Magnet Coordinator: Keisha Robinson | Email: krobins8@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-942-1441 | 713-942-1448 (fax)