Bush Excellence Committee/SDMC 2022 - 2023

  • SDMC BEC Meeting - What do all these letters mean? Every school has a Site-based Decision Making Committee. At Bush Elementary, we also call this committee BEC which stands for the Bush Excellence Committee. This committee is made up of members of the Bush Elementary learning community and includes: parents, community members, faculty, and staff. This committee meets quarterly and serves as an advisory council to the principal. Some of the functions of this committee include reviewing the annual school improvement plan and reviewing/updating dress code guidelines and other school policies.



    The meetings are open to parents and the agenda and minutes are shared on the Bush website after the meeting. If parents would like to speak at the meeting on a certain topic, then the parent must contact the school secretary, Zonia Flores, at zonia.flores@houstonisd.org at least one day in advance and share the topic that will be presented. All registered parent speakers are given a 5 minute time frame to present.


    All meetings will take place at 3:25 p.m. in the library. 

    *Meeting dates are subject to change. Additional dates might be added in accordance with district request. 


    September 6, 2022

    November 10, 2022

    February 9, 2023

    May 15, 2023

Position Name Email Address
Business Member Thuraya Mayet thurayamayet@yahoo.com
Parent/PTO President Amy Gnau presidentbbepto@gmail.com
Professional Staff - Other Erin Pham erin.pham@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Other Theresa Orta torta@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Teacher Natalie Fox nfox@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Teacher Rachel Larson rlarson@houstonisd.org
Community Member Maha Aburas maha04@msn.com
Non-Instructional Staff Adriana Rosales arosale3@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Other Barbie G. Miller bmille12@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Teacher Sarita Sheth sarita.sheth@houstonisd.org
Principal Theresa Rose trose@houstonisd.org
Professional Staff - Special Ed Allison Bianci allison.bianci@houstonisd.org
Parent/PTO VP President Nikki Vedi bushpto.vp@gmail.com