• Dual Language at Roosevelt

    Roosevelt is excited to be a dual language school.  We offer Pre-Kindergarten, Kindergarten through 5th Grade dual language.  Our program is the 50/50 model.   Half of the day, the students in this program learn English and the other half, they learn Spanish. 

    The students in the dual language program will learn biliteracy skills.  Our dual language program has Two-Way Classrooms, where the classes are composed of a combinations native English and native Spanish speakers. This setting provides the opportunity for all students to become fully bilingual and be able to read and write in both languages. 

     

    Lenguaje Dual en Roosevelt

    Roosevelt está emocionado de ser una escuela de dos idiomas. Ofrecemos prejardín de infantes, jardín de infantes a quinto 
    grado en dos idiomas. Nuestro programa es el modelo 50/50. La mitad del día, los estudiantes de este programa aprenden
    inglés y la otra mitad, aprenden español. Los estudiantes en el programa de lenguaje dual aprenderán habilidades de alfabetización bilingüe. Nuestro programa de
    lenguaje dual tiene aulas de dos vías, donde las clases se componen de una combinación de hablantes nativos de inglés
    y español. Este entorno brinda la oportunidad para que todos los estudiantes se vuelvan completamente bilingües y puedan leer
    y escribir en ambos idiomas.

     

    Our amazing dual language teachers:

    Teacher Grade Email
    Gloria Castillo Pre K Dual Gloria.Castillo@houstonisd.org
    Silvia Martinez Kinder Dual SMartin9@houstonisd.org
    Frida Cano 1st Dual Frida.CanoAcosta@houstonisd.org
    Betty Ramirez 2nd Dual Betty.Ramirez@houstonisd.org
    Olivia Rangel 2nd English Olivia.Rangel@houstonisd.org
    Silvia Torres 2nd Spanish Silvia.Torres@houstonisd.org
    Vladlena Meilvang 3rd English Language Arts Vladlena.Meilvang@houstonisd.org
     Erika Gomez 3rd Spanish Language Arts  Erika.GomezAlfaro@houstonisd.org
     Cynthia Adams 3rd Math  CAdams@houstonisd.org
     Olivia Byrd 4th Dual English  Olivia.Byrd@houstonisd.org
     Mireya Amaya 4th Dual Spanish  Mireya.Amaya@houstonisd.org
     Arturo Jimenez 5th Spanish Language Arts & Math  AJimene2@houstonisd.org

     

     
     
     
    LOOK at our activities!      

    ¡MIRA nuestras actividades!

     
    Reading and Writing/Leyendo y Escribiendo
     Reading DL      Reading DL  Reading DL  Reading DL  Reading DL
    Creating Art/Creando Arte
     Reading DL  Reading DL  Reading DL  Reading DL  Reading DL
    Measuring and Counting (Math and Science)/Midiendo y Contando (Matemáticas y Ciencias)
     
     100 Day (Math)  100 Day (Math)  100 Day (Math)  100 Day (Math)
    100 Day (Math)/100 días de clases (Matemáticas)
     100 Day (Math) 100 Day (Math)    100 Day (Math)
    Science/Ciencias
     100 Day (Math) 100 Day (Math)   100 Day (Math)