Burbank Elementary

A School of College-Bound Scholars

  • Shared Decision-Making Committee (SDMC)

    • Program Description

      The Houston Independent School District (HISD) Board of Education established and approved the campus-level planning and decision-making process in 1992. This process includes the creation and maintenance of a Shared Decision-Making Committee (SDMC) at each school to review the district's educational goals, objectives, and major district wide classroom instructional programs. Each committee is designed to involve professional and non-professional staff, parents, community members, and business representatives in establishing academic and other performance objectives of the school for each academic excellence indicator adopted in the Texas Education Code (TEC §11.253, TEC §39.051). The SDMC was authorized to fulfill the following responsibilities:

      1. Implement all pertinent campus-level planning processes;
      2. Develop recommendations for the school budget;
      3. Submit recommendations for the school curriculum;
      4. Recommend changes in the school's staffing patterns;
      5. Develop and approve the campus staff development plans;
      6. Develop, review, and revise the School Improvement Plan (SIP) for the purpose of improving student performance for all student populations (after principal approval of the SIP, the SDMC presents the plan to staff for approval);
      7. Review and make recommendations regarding the school's organizational structure, and
      8. Establish procedures to periodically obtain broad-based community, parent, and staff input.

      The SDMC is required to meet at least once a year to discuss the performance of the school and the school's objectives. A record of all decisions and significant discussion items must be maintained by the committee. This information should be disseminated to appropriate school and district personnel as well as be available upon request for public review.

    SDMC Reports

     

     MEETING DATES

    Date Location Time Notes
    Aug. 17th, 2021 Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM Beginning of School Year
    Sept. 13th, 2021  Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM  
    Nov. 15th, 2021 Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM  
    Jan. 24th, 2022 Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM  
    Mar. 21st, 2022 Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM  
    May 16th, 2022 Conference Room/TEAMS 3:30 PM End of School Year

     

     


    Burbank Elementary School SDMC Meetings, Agendas and Minutes

    SDMC Meeting 08-17-21

     

    SDMC Meeting 05-27-21

    SDMC Meeting 04-13-21

     

    SDMC Meeting 01-15-21

     

    SDMC Meeting 10-29-20

     

    SDMC Meeting 9-18-20

     
     

    COMMITTEE MEMBERS

    Committee Representative 

    Representative Name 

    Email 

    Chairperson 

    Ernesto Solorzano 

     Esolorza@houstonisd.org 

    Parent 

    Melissa Perez 

     Melissa_perez@live.com 

    Parent 

    Cynthia Zamarripa 

     Cgalvan8@yahoo.com 

    Community Member 

    Beth Saunders 

     Esaunders@alotnis.com 

    Community Member 

    Manuel Gonzales 

    Manuel@yahoo.com 

    Business Representative 

    Emiliano Lorenzo 

     infopartyhouston@gmail.com 

    Professional Staff-Special Education 

    Jessica Paul 

     Jpaul4@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff-Teachers 

    Amanda Loredo 

     Amanda.loredo@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff-Teachers 

    Allison Frost 

     Allison.Frost@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff-Teachers 

    Haley Lassman 

     Haley.Lassman@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff-Teachers 

    Uriel Ramos 

     Uriel.Ramos@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff- Teachers 

    Navyd Diaz 

    Ndiaz5@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff- Teachers 

    Hector Tovar 

     Htovar@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff- Other 

    Jennifer Hudson 

     Jhudson6@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff- Other 

    Tiniece Nowlin 

     Tiniece.Nowlin@houstonisd.org 

    Professional Staff- Other 

    Nakia Minix 

     Nakia.Minix@houstonisd.org 

    Non-Instructional Employee 

    Sudy RochaRamos 

     Sudi.RochaRamos@houstonisd.org 

CLOSE
CLOSE