HSPVA Jazz Ensembles are under the direction of Warren Sneed.
    See audition requirements here. 
    About the HSPVA Jazz Program 
    Jazz has always been a vital part of the music department at HSPVA.  The HSPVA jazz program includes two big bands and two “official” combos.  Other related courses offered include Jazz History, Jazz Fundamentals/ Improvisation, and a Rhythm Section class. Since the inception of the TMEA All-State Jazz Ensemble in 1979 (and more recently All-State Jazz Ensemble II), the jazz program has had well over 100 students selected to these prestigious ensembles.   Since 2008, HSPVA has been associated with the Thelonious Monk Institute’s Performing Arts High School Jazz Program, which brings in respected musicians and educators from the local community and region to work with students in a small group setting.  Some recent clinicians have included Dr. Robert Morgan, Helen Sung, Dennis Dotson, Sebastian Whittaker, Pamela York, Andre Hayward, David Caceres, Dan Hearle, Ed Soph, and Brad Leali.  HSPVA jazz ensembles have performed at numerous festivals including Essentially Ellington, Monterey Next Generation Jazz Festival, North Texas Jazz Festival, Crescent City Jazz Festival, Moores School of Music Jazz Festival, and the Longhorn Jazz Festival.  HSPVA jazz groups have performed at the past four Jazz Education Network conferences held in Louisville, KY; Atlanta, GA; Dallas, TX; and this past January in San Diego, CA.


    Selected HSPVA Jazz Alumni include the following:
    Bass - David Craig, Houston; Allen Hampton, New York; Mark Kelley, New York (John Scofield, The Roots); Tim Ruiz, Houston (La Mafia); Keith Vivens, Houston; Marcos Varela, New York; Chris Walker, Houston (Al Jarreau; also vocalist with two very successful CDs on Pendulum label). 
    Composers/Arrangers - Mark Holden, Los Angeles; Ed Smart, Los Angeles; David White, Washington, DC.
    Drums -  Michael Aguilar, Houston (La Mafia); Jalon Archie, Houston (Brubeck Institute Fellow); Cory Cox, New York (Brubeck Institute Fellow, Joel Frahm); Chris Dave, Houston (Kenny Garrett, Me'Shell; NdegéOcello); Jeremy Dutton, New York (Taylor Eigsti); Joel Fulgham, Houston; Warren Grant, Boston; Eric Harland, New York (McCoy Tyner, Charles Loyd, Greg Osby); Matt Johnson, New York (Jeff Buckley, Rickie Lee Jones, St. Vincent); Herman Matthews, Los Angeles (Tom Jones, Tower of Power); Dustin Kaufman, New York (St. Lucia); Kendrick Scott, New York (Terence Blanchard, John Scofield, Kendrick Scott Oracle); Mark Simmons, Houston (Al Jarreau); Andrew Sneed, Houston (Bob Dorough); Sebastian Whittaker, Houston (Justice recording artist); Jamire Williams, New York (Jacky Terrasson, Kenny Garrett).
    Guitar - Scott Gertner, Houston (also vocalist, band leader, club owner); Scott Hardy, New York; Mike Moreno, New York (Lizz Wright, Stefon Harris); Khabu Doug Young, New York (Art Lande).
    Piano - James Francies, New York (Stefon Harris, Jeff “Tain” Watts); Robert Glasper, New York (Robert Glasper Experiment GRAMMY-winning album Black Radio); Eddy Hobizal, Austin (also composer; 3rd place, 1989 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition [while junior in high school]); Andrew Lienhard, Houston;  Jason Moran, New York (film score for “Selma,” Artistic Director for Jazz at The Kennedy Center, 2010 MacArthur Fellow); Mike Rojas, Nashville; Simon Rowe, Stockton, CA (Executive Director Brubeck Institute); Helen Sung, New York (also composer; Fresh Sound recording artist; semifinalist,1999 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition, Mingus Dynasty Big Band); José-Miguel Yamal, Houston.
    Saxophone - Geof Bradfield, Chicago (Assistant Professor of Jazz Saxophone and Jazz Studies at Northern Illinois University); Shelley Carrol, Dallas (Duke Ellington Orchestra); David Detweiler, New York; Rex Gregory, New Orleans; Everette Harp, Los Angeles (also composer; Blue Note and A440 recording artist); Jason Haynesworth, Fort Lauderdale, FL (also composer and arranger, Broward College); Walter Smith III, Los Angeles (Roy Haynes, Ambrose Akinmusire)
    Trombone - André Hayward, Boston (Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra; 1st place, 2003 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition, Clayton Hamilton Jazz Orchestra); Corey King (Esperanza Spaulding)
    Trumpet: Brandon Lee, New York (Juilliard School, Miles Davis Jazz Studies Program – U. of North Carolina); Leron Thomas, New York.
    2015 Spring Jazz Festival
     2015 Spring Jazz Festival with Guest Artist: trumpeter Tim Hagans (center).

    Jason Moran and HSPVA Jazz Ensemble I - Discovery Green
      HSPVA Jazz Ensemble I with alum Jason Moran at Discovery Green 4-30-2015