Vanguard Programs

Vanguard

HISD’s Vanguard magnet programs, like this one at Windsor Village Elementary, challenge gifted-and-talented students to become independent thinkers who love learning.

HISD's Vanguard magnet programs serve students who have been identified as gifted and/or talented in intellectual ability or creativity. Vanguard curricula are both accelerated, continually rigorous, and enriched with a foreign language each year throughout a student's academic life.

For example, at Carnegie Vanguard, the distric's only Vanguard high school, students must take pre-AP and AP courses in all four core academic areas, a strong recommendation of three years of foreign languages, plus a junior level independent research course which includes the Texas Performance Standards Project (TPSP) or the AP research part of the Capstone Diploma Program.

 

Click here to learn more about HISD's Vanguard programs.

Advanced Academics Department

4400 West 18th Street
Houston, TX 77092  

Telephone: 
713-556-6954
Fax: 713-556-6898
 
Adam Stephens
Officer, Advanced Academics
 

Gifted and Talented Education

4400 West 18th Street
Level 2SW
Houston, TX 77092
Telephone:713-556-6954
Fax: 713-556-6898
Email us! 

Vanguard High Schools

logo

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Additional Programs: EMERGE 
Magnet Coordinator: Rosalyn Webb | Email: rwebb1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-732-3690 | 713-732-3694 (fax) 

Vanguard Middle Schools

logo

Black Middle School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Michelle Gordon-Moak | Email: mgordon3@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-613-2505 | 713-613-2233 (fax)

logo

Burbank Middle School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Sanjuanita Mottu | Email: sanjuanita.mottu@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-696-2720 | 713-696-2723 (fax)

logo

Hamilton Middle School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Cynthia Elliott | Email: cynthia.elliott@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-802-4725 | 713-802-4731 (fax)

logo

Lanier Middle School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Jennifer Garza | Email: jgarza8@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-942-1900 | 713-942-1907 (fax)

logo

T.H. Rogers School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Barbra Hearne | Email: bhearne@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-917-3565 | 713-917-3555 (fax)

Vanguard Elementary Schools

logo

Askew Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Scott Bounds | Email: sbounds@houstonisd.org
Phone: 281-368-2100 | 281-368-2103 (fax)

logo

Carrillo Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Aurora DeLuna | Email: adeluna1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-924-1870 | 713-924-1873 (fax)

logo

De Zavala Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Dinora Espinosa | Email: despino1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-924-1888 | 713-924-1891 (fax)

logo

Herod Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Todd Paulus | Email: tpaulus@houstoisd.org
Phone: 713-778-3315 | 713-778-3317 (fax)

logo

Oak Forest Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Patricia Shepherd | Email: pshepher@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-613-2536 | 713-613-2244 (fax)

logo

River Oaks Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Andrea Williams | Email: awillia8@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-942-1460 | 713-942-1463 (fax)

logo

Roosevelt Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Korrie Sadberry | Email: ksadberr@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-696-2820 | 713-696-2821 (fax)

logo

T H Rogers School
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Barbra Hearne | Email: bhearne@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-917-3565 | 713-917-3555 (fax)

logo

Travis Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Sara Lytle | Email: slytle@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-802-4790 | 713-802-4795 (fax)

logo

Windsor Village Elementary
Magnet Program: Vanguard
Magnet Coordinator: Danielle Arriola | Email: darriol1@houstonisd.org
Phone: 713-726-3642 | 713-726-3647 (fax)

CLOSE