Middle Years Programme Overview

  • ibo.myp  
    The Middle Years Programme (MYP) of the International Baccalaureate (IB) is a five-year educational program for grades 6 through 10. Lamar High School teaches the last two years (in grades 9 and 10) of the five year Middle Years Programme. 
    The fundamental concepts of the MYP are:
    • Intercultural awareness
    • Holistic learning
    • Communication
    The IB has set the aims and objectives for eight different Subject Areas. These areas are: MYP Graphic click for details
    Language & Literature (Usually the school’s language of instruction)
    Language Acquisition (A modern foreign language learned at school)
    Design (The nature, processes and impact of Technology)
    Individuals & Societies (History, Geography)
    Physical & Health Education (a healthy, active lifestyle, optimal fitness, social skills and reflection)
    Sciences (General Science, Biology, Chemistry and Physics)
    Arts (Music, Art/Design, Drama)
    At Lamar High School, in grades 9 and 10, the teachers develop and use MYP unit plans to meet the aims and objectives of these Subject Areas.

    A feature of the MYP is that students, mostly through their selected courses and whole school activities, will experience five common themes. These are called Areas of Interaction. They bind the various disciplines together.

    The five areas are:

    Approaches to Learning

    Developing effective ways to think, learn, reflect and communicate.

    Approaches to teaching

    emphasizing MYP pedagogy, including collaborative learning through inquiry.


    highlighting a concept-driven curriculum.

    Global contexts

    showing how learning best takes place in context

Last Modified on February 11, 2019