Middle School Magnet Programs

  • Middle School
       
    Middle Map link
     
     
     

    Band students practice at Meyerland Middle School.

  • When it comes to your child's education, you have a lot of choices.
     
    The Houston Independent School District prides itself on its many and varied school choice options for students. HISD also remains committed to providing equity in access to high-quality educational programs and instruction. School Choice options include neighborhood schools, Magnet programs, and charter schools. We invite you to take a closer look at HISD. You will see that Houston's public school system offers students a world of great opportunities that will prepare them for success-in  college, in careers, and in life.
  • College Preparatory

    College Prep Academies focus on Advanced Placement and dual credit college classes to help students prepare for college and earn college credit in a wide variety of subjects. 

  • Fine Arts and/or Performing and Visual Arts

    HISD’s Magnet programs in the fine arts build on academics to give students opportunities for creative expression. Young artists work together to produce high-quality performances, publications, and exhibitions that reflect their understanding of the arts, develop their critical-thinking and problem-solving skills, and enhance their self-esteem. 
  • International Baccalaureate

    International Baccalaureate schools offer challenging educational programs for students to help develop their intellectual, personal, emotional, and social skills to learn, work, and live comfortably and productively as a citizen of the world. The rigorous and broad IB program empowers students to become dedicated, lifelong, bilingual and biliterate learners who embrace multiculturalism and diversity.
    IB schools operate through a nonprofit international foundation that authorizes IB status through an extensive process including teacher training, an IB-team visit, curriculum review, and interviews throughout the school community.
  • Montessori

    HISD’s Montessori schools use century-old techniques emphasizing highly personalized learning for each child to develop his/her own interests and full potential. Every classroom is equipped with special materials designed to work with the whole child to develop social skills, emotional growth, physical coordination, and cognition. Class communities emphasize both independent, purposeful work and collaborative explorations.
  • STEM

     Students have the opportunity for in-depth, process-oriented studies of STEM disciplines in conjunction with a strong academic program. These studies develop critical-thinking and problem-solving skills through relevant and meaningful STEM explorations. Student centered learning emphasizes “hands-on” activities with real world applications.
  • Dual Language Programs

    HISD is rich with diversity, mirroring Houston. Our specialty schools — dual language, language immersion, International Baccalaureate, and internationally focused high schools — offer students the opportunity for broader language study, multicultural explorations, and the skills to function smoothly in a shrinking global environment.

    Dual language campuses promote instruction in two languages as equally important, giving English speakers the gift of bilingualism and allowing English-as-a-second-language students to retain their own language while mastering English.
  • International Studies

    Students learn about varied cultures, learn to speak different languages, and learn to use technologies important in our global society. Students learn the communication skills necessary to succeed in our rapidly-changing world.
  • Math, Science and/or Technology

    Math, Science and/or Technology programs offer coursework in specialized areas of math, science, and or technology. Allied health professions, medical health science, and communications are among the vast array of program specializations.
  • Vanguard (Gifted and Talented)

    HISD’s Vanguard magnet programs serve students who have been identified as gifted and/or talented in intellectual ability or creativity. Vanguard curricula are both accelerated and enriched, and are continually rigorous throughout a student’s academic life. At Carnegie Vanguard, the district’s only Vanguard high school, students must take pre-AP and AP courses in all four core areas plus a foreign language each year.
  • Sports Medicine and Fine Arts Academy

    The Sports Medicine and Fine Arts Academy provides an opportunity for students to develop their abilities in dance, gymnastics, and lifetime sports while maintaining academic excellence. Sports science studies include anatomy, kinesiology, and nutrition. Athletic training lessons include prevention and care of injuries and first aid certification. Students may also participate in an Athletic Trainer program.
  • MIDDLE SCHOOL MAGNET PROGRAMS

    logo

    Baylor College Of Medicine Acd
    Magnet Program: STEM/Medical Health Professions
    Magnet Coordinator: Joanna Garcia | Email: jgarcia7@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-942-1932 | 713-942-1943 (fax)

    logo

    Black Middle School
    Magnet Program: Vanguard
    Magnet Coordinator: Michelle Gordon-Moak | Email: mgordon3@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-613-2505 | 713-613-2233 (fax)

    logo

    Burbank Middle School
    Magnet Program: Vanguard
    Magnet Coordinator: Sanjuanita Mottu | Email: sanjuanita.mottu@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-696-2720 | 713-696-2723 (fax)

    logo

    Clifton Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Anita Samuy | Email: ASAMUY@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-613-2516 | 713-613-2523 (fax)

    logo

    Deady Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Donica Arnold Brown | Email: Donica.ArnoldBrown@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-845-7411

    logo

    Fleming Middle School
    Magnet Program: Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Arlice Young | Email: ayoung5@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-671-4170 | 713-671-4176 (fax)

    logo

    Fondren Middle School
    Magnet Program: International Baccalaureate
    Magnet Coordinator: Melodye Montgomery | Email: mmontgom@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-778-3360 | 713-778-3362 (fax)

    logo

    Garden Oaks Montessori
    Magnet Program: Montessori
    Magnet Coordinator: Marisa Zepeda-Zamora | Email: mzepeda4@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-696-2930 | 713-696-2932 (fax)

    logo

    Gregory Lincoln Middle School Fine Arts
    Magnet Program: Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Cheryl Jones | Email: cjones13@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-942-1400 | 713-942-1406 (fax)

    logo

    Hamilton Middle School
    Magnet Program: Vanguard
    Magnet Coordinator: Maggie Trendell | Email: mtrendel@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-802-4725 | 713-802-4731 (fax)

    logo

    Hartman Middle School
    Magnet Program: STEM – Medical and Health Science
    Magnet Coordinator: Karina Lopez | Email: klopez3@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-845-7435 | 713-847-4706 (fax)

    logo

    Hogg Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Daniella Andrade | Email: dandrad1@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-802-4700 | 713-802-4708 (fax)

    logo

    Key Middle School
    Magnet Program: Performing and Visual Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Marvin Ewing | Email: mewing2@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-636-6000 | 713-636-6008 (fax)

    logo

    Lanier Middle School
    Magnet Program: Vanguard
    Magnet Coordinator: Jennifer Garza | Email: jgarza8@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-942-1900 | 713-942-1907 (fax)

    logo

    Lawson Middle School
    Magnet Program: Performing and Visual Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Terence Daniels | Email: tdaniel3@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-434-5600 | 713-434-5608 (fax)

    logo

    Long Academy
    Magnet Program: Allied Health Professions
    Magnet Coordinator: Will Rice | Email: wrice@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-778-3380 | 713-778-3387 (fax)

    logo

    Mandarin Immersion Magnet School
    Magnet Program: Mandarin Language
    Magnet Coordinator: Elizabeth Eastman | Email: eeastman@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 7132955276713/662-3527(fax)

    logo

    Marshall Middle School
    Magnet Program: Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Jason Darnell | Email: jason.darnell@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-226-2600 | 713-226-2605 (fax)

    logo

    Meyerland Middle School
    Magnet Program: Performing and Visual Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Prentiss Whitley | Email: Prentiss.Whitley@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-726-3616 | 713-726-3622 (fax)

    logo

    Mickey Leland College Prep
    Magnet Program: College Preparatory
    Magnet Coordinator: JoAnn Coronado | Email: JCORONAD@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-226-2668 | 713-226-4923 (fax)

    logo

    Ortiz Middle School
    Magnet Program: Performing and Visual Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Adriana Mesa | Email: amesa@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-845-5650 | 713-845-5646 (fax)

    logo

    Pershing Middle School
    Magnet Program: Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Patricia Altamirano | Email: paltamir@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-295-5240 | 713-295-5252 (fax)

    logo

    Pin Oak Middle School
    Magnet Program: Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Jennifer Heemer | Email: jheemer@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-295-6500 | 713-295-6511 (fax)

    logo

    Revere Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Philip Porter | Karen Whitley | Email: pporter1@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-917-3500 | 713-917-3505 (fax)

    logo

    Rice School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Vickie Matson | Email: VMATSON@houstonisd.org;
    Phone: 713-349-1800 | 713-349-1828 (fax)

    logo

    Sharpstown International School 6-12
    Magnet Program: International Studies
    Magnet Coordinator: Tina Schwettmann | Email: tina.schwettmann@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-778-3440 | 713-778-3444 (fax)

    logo

    Stevenson Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Christyn McCloskey | Email: cmcclosk@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-943-5700 | 713-943-5711 (fax)

    logo

    T H Rogers School
    Magnet Program: Vanguard
    Magnet Coordinator: Barbra Hearne | Email: bhearne@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-917-3565 | 713-917-3555 (fax)

    logo

    Baylor College of Medicine Biotech Academy at Rusk
    Magnet Program: Health Science Academy
    Magnet Coordinator: Senta Butler | Email: sbutler5@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-226-4543 | 713-226-4546 (fax)

    logo

    Welch Middle School
    Magnet Program: Sports Medicine and Fine Arts
    Magnet Coordinator: Laura Sadler | Email: lsadler@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-778-3300 | 713-995-6067 (fax)

    logo

    Wharton K-8 Dual Language
    Magnet Program: Dual Language (SWP)
    Magnet Coordinator: Melina Doig | Email: mdoig@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-535-3771 | 713-535-3772 (fax)

    logo

    Williams Middle School
    Magnet Program: Science, Technology, Engineering, Math
    Magnet Coordinator: Zanovia Gatson | Email: zgatson@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-696-2600 | 713/696-2604 (fax)

    logo

    Wilson Montessori
    Magnet Program: Montessori (SWP)
    Magnet Coordinator: Krystal Perkins | Email: Krystal.Perkins@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-942-1470 | 713-942-1472 (fax)

    logo

    Young Women's College Prep
    Magnet Program: College Preparatory
    Magnet Coordinator: Keisha Robinson | Email: krobins8@houstonisd.org
    Phone: 713-942-1441 | 713- 942-1448 (fax)