National School Board Recognition Month

January 06, 2011
Every January, Texas celebrates National School Board Recognition Month to honor the men and women who serve on the nation’s thousands of Boards of Education. These dedicated public servants become school-board trustees because they are committed to improving public education and their communities. They devote many hours of their time to making sure the nation’s children receive a high-quality education that will make them life-long learners and prepare them for successful, rewarding lives and careers. They make sure America’s school districts provide students with schools that are safe and have the resources and instructional programs they need to educate children to their fullest potential.

The nine members of HISD’s Board of Education serve staggered four-year terms—and, unlike their peers in other cities, they serve without pay. They are elected from separate geographic districts, but as board members they work closely with the superintendent of schools to improve teaching and learning throughout the entire city, not just in their individual trustee districts.

HISD Board of Education

Anna Eastman, Trustee, District I
Carol Mims Galloway, Trustee, District II
Manuel Rodríguez Jr., Trustee, District III
Paula M. Harris, Trustee, District IV
Michael L. Lunceford, Trustee, District V
Greg Meyers, Trustee, District VI
Harvin C. Moore, Trustee, District VII
Juliet Stipeche, Trustee, District VIII
Lawrence Marshall, Trustee, District IX