TELPAS Introduction

  • In response to the federal testing requirement of No Child Left Behind (NCLB), the Texas Education Agency (TEA) has developed an assessment system called the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS). This system has two components: the Reading Proficiency Tests in English (RPTE) and the Texas Observation Protocols (TOP). Under this system, Limited English Proficient (LEP) students in kindergarten through twelfth grade are assessed in four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. The results of this assessment are then used to determine whether districts receiving Title III funds meet federally mandated annual measurable achievement objectives (AMAOs) that indicate where LEP students are on a continuum of English language development.  This continuum is divided into four proficiency levels:
    • Advanced High
    • Advanced
    • Intermediate
    • Beginning

    To determine a campus’ or district’s TELPAS ratings, TEA examines the proficiency rating in each language domain, comprehension score, and composite score/rating.

TELPAS Reports/Briefs