• National Junior Honor Society
     Luther Burbank Chapter
     Welcome by Mr. Knittle
    Our National Junior Honor Society Chapter had its Induction Ceremony on Friday, January 20, 2017. The school cafeteria was decorated with nice tablecloths, decorations, and balloons in the society's colors, blue and silver. At 5:30 in the afternoon, our current members and new inductees walked past their parents, teachers, and friends to the seats that were waiting for them in front. Ms. Amanda Vasquez, our chapter adviser, welcomed everyone and introduced our Principal Mr. Knittle. He said in his remarks how difficult it is to belong to the NJHS and how proud he was of our members. He congratulated them and their parents on having achieved this great honor.  
    After Mr. Knittle spoke, Ms. Dulce Mancillas and Ms. Kynette Gray addressed the assembly. They, along with Ms. Lucero Rodarte, form part of the Faculty NJHS Selection Committee. 
    Our current officers followed with a brief description of the five pillars of the NJHS. As they finished their description they lit a candle from the candle of wisdom until all five candles were lit. Our officers are:
    President Kennedy Jones, who spoke about Leadership.
    Vice President Yolanda Pineda, who read about Service.
    Secretary Emanuel Maldonado, who explained Scholarship.
    Treasurer Brandy Torres, who told us about Citizenship.
    Historian Dolores Vasquez, who remarked upon Character.
    Following the candle ceremony, our new members recited the pledge of the NJHS. One by one, our newly inducted members were called to receive their pins and membership cards from Mr. Knittle and our Vanguard Coordinator Ms. Frances Cortina. They also signed the memory book before going back to their seats.
    These are the newly inducted members of the National Junior Honor Society for 2016-2017:
    Sixth Grade  Seventh Grade Eighth Grade
    Yessenia Castillo  Sara Aviles Janneth Alejandre
    Rodrigo Flores Jesus DeLeon Monica Buendia 
    Jacquelin Franco Alejandra Enriquez Jennifer Gonzalez 
    Yaretzy Garcia  Angie Flores  Isabel Nicolas
    Ariah Herrera  Pablo Garza Angelina Martinez 
    David Morales Britney Godinez  Joaquin Quiroz
    Miguel Romo    Leonardo Licona Elizabeth Serrano 
    Arlette Rosales Emily Perez Yzette Torres
    Gabrielle Salgado Ana Romero  
    Anaida Serrato America Ruiz  
    Lili Trujillo Kevin Valerio  
      Angie Viera  
      Denise Zavala  
                    NJHS 2016-17  
    After the group photograph was taken, parents, students, and teachers were able to enjoy together a scrumptious dinner to celebrate the happy occasion. Our excellent clerks Ms. Doraelia Zepeda, Ms. Stephanie Rios, and Ms. Diasmin Zepeda had everything ready and were on hand to help serve our guests. Congratulations to our new NJHS members and their families!