• The HISD World Languages is aligned with the HISD Mission, Vision, Beliefs, Constraints, and Goals and ACTFL Guiding Principles.


    Founded in 1967, ACTFL is the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. It provides guidance to language educators, advocates for the learning of languages, and influences legislation such as the 19 TAC Chapter 114. Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills for Languages Other Than English.

    In their own words:

    "The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 12,500 language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.

    Since its founding (in 1967), ACTFL has become synonymous with innovation, quality, and reliability in meeting the changing needs of language educators and their students. From the development of Proficiency Guidelines, to its leadership role in the creation of national standards, ACTFL focuses on issues that are critical to the growth of both the profession and the individual teacher." (Retried from ACTFL, About Us)


    Core Practices for World Languages: Video Overview


    ACTFL Statement on Literacy in Language Learning


    The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) describes six components of 21st century literacy (2013):

    • Manage, analyze, and synthesize multiple streams of information
    • Design and share information for global communities
    • Build intentional cross-cultural connections and relationships with others
    • Develop proficiency and fluency with the tools of technology
    • Create, critique, analyze, and evaluate multimedia texts
    • Attend to the ethical responsibilities required by complex environments


    Retrieved from ACTFL (with permission)