District Advisory Committee

  • HISD District Advisory Committee

    Parents, students, and other community members who wish to be a part of the decision-making process at HISD should consider serving on one or more of the district's advisory committees.

    PARENTS: can offer ideas and feedback at either the campus or district level as members of the Shared Decision Making Committee (campus), the Parent Advisory Committee (district), the Public Engagement Committee (district), or the District Advisory Committee (district).

    Other community members may also take part in some of these committees - and principals have their own advisory committee, which is chaired by the superintendent of schools. For more information on each committee and details on how to participate, explore the links on the left side of the page.

  • The District Advisory Committee (DAC) is a district level committee that advises the Board and Superintendent in establishing and reviewing the District's educational goals, objectives, and major district-wide classroom instructional programs. The purpose of DAC is to promote excellence in education and specialized supports for all HISD students through community representation. The DAC provides valuable input to the Superintendent, his leadership team, and the Board of Trustees, who ultimately have decision-making responsibility for the district. The DAC serves exclusively in an advisory role except for approval of the districtwide staff development plan. The committee is comprised of campus-based professional staff, classroom teachers, district-level professional staff, parents, community members, and business representatives.

  • For questions regarding DAC, please email DAC@houstonisd.org

2023-24 Meeting Dates, Times, Locations

  • All meetings from 5pm-6:30pm via Microsoft TEAMS unless otherwise noted.

    • October 10, 2023 (in person)
    • November 8, 2023 (in person)
    • November 14, 2023 (in person)
    • December 5, 2023 (in person)
    • January 16, 2024 (in person | 5:15pm-7pm)
    • February 20, 2024 (in person | 5:15pm-7pm)
    • March 19, 2024 (in person | 5:15pm-7pm)
    • April 16, 2024 (in person | 5:15pm-7pm)
    • May 21, 2024 (in person | 5:15pm-7pm)


Additional Documents

2023 Committee Members

Last Name First Name Appointer
Anoma Allure Superintendent
Anthony Sarah Staff Elected
Anugweje Ijeoma Staff Elected
Atia Rahan Superintendent
Baldwin Kailtyn Superintendent
Barretto Milligan Celeste School Board
Bowden Shayla Superintendent
Bustamante Charlene School Board
Cao Andy School Board
Carter Jessica School Board
Castillo Yvette Staff Elected
Ceasar Paula Staff Elected
Cervantes Toni School Board
Cevallos Lucy Superintendent
Chapman Elizabeth Staff Elected
Colon Edgar School Board
Doyle-Madrid Naomi School Board
Duffy Karen Superintendent
Flores Olsen Linda Superintendent
Fontaine Lauren School Board
Fontaine Diedra School Board
Ford-Robinson Dietra Staff Elected
Garner Taisha Staff Elected
Gerard Clara Staff Elected
Golden Heather Superintendent
Griffin Anita Staff Elected
Hairel Eileen School Board
Hall Sara Staff Elected
Harris Jeremy Superintendent
Hartmann Sims Celia Superintendent
Hendricks Mary Staff Elected
Hittner George Superintendent
Horwath Bill School Board
Izquierdo Sarah Staff Elected
Jones Kennard Superintendent
Juarez Zaire School Board
Langham Chanler Superintendent
Maddux Amy Superintendent
Ndefo Uche School Board
Nino Deisy Superintendent
Ochoa Tish School Board
Parker Deera School Board
Rice Tarence Superintendent
Roberts-Jackson Roshunda Staff Elected
Rodriguez Kristina Staff Elected
Rosales Marcos Superintendent
Santos Daniel Staff Elected
Serrano Roxana Staff Elected
Smith Leslie Superintendent
Stein Charles Superintendent
Thomas Janice School Board
Thompson Gregory Staff Elected
Tran Theresa School Board
Turnquest Krysti Superintendent
Vielman Jerome School Board
Walker Mac Superintendent
Witherspoon Stephanie Staff Elected
Wray Bradley Staff Elected
Wright Stephen Staff Elected